top of page

Did You Know? - India Edition

In the Hindu calendar there are six climate seasons.

According to the lunisolar Hindu calendar, there are six seasons or ritus in a year. Since Vedic times, Hindus across India and South Asia have used this calendar to structure their lives around the seasons of the year. The faithful still use it today for important Hindu festivals and religious occasions.

Each season is two months long, and special celebrations and events occur during all of them. According to Hindu scriptures, the six seasons are:

Vasant Ritu: Spring

Grishma Ritu: Summer

Varsha Ritu: Monsoon

Sharad Ritu: Autumn

Hemant Ritu: Pre-winter (this is when the 2021 OC Partner Meeting will take place!!!)

Shishir or Shita Ritu: Winter

What is your favorite season?

18 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Kommentar

Naresh  Panjala
Naresh Panjala
09. Sept. 2021

😊Phenomenal, Thanks Neil for sharing .appreciate your deep knowledge connecting culturally, worldwide.

Gefällt mir
bottom of page